Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, internet-based learning at universities experienced an unstoppable rise of popularity. Some people argue that this way of learning causes some drawbacks, I still believe that it is more beneficial to enroll online courses at universities.

On the one hand, distant learning is negative from two aspects. Online learners often have less direct interaction with teachers, for they rely mostly on written forms of communication instead. Not having opportunities to engage face to face with teachers may have negative impacts on study outcomes of students since when they ask their teachers online, they may not get responses immediately, which affects negatively their understanding of lectures. Similarly, students studying online do not come into direct contact with each other, which also affect greatly peer support as well as exchange of ideas in the class. Different from traditional courses where learners can discuss and enjoy face-to-face group work, online students are restricted to chatting through website forum areas, which can make them lack motivation and element of competition.

Despite disadvantages discussed above, I believe that online courses at universities are more advantageous because of several reasons. Firstly, internet-based courses allow students study in flexible schedule whenever and wherever they are. This is highly convenient for them as they can manage time more effectively; also, they can cover the material at their own pace. Secondly, thanks to distance learning educational programmes, cost of a university education can be greatly reduced. Doing this can open access to anybody who is willing to study regardless of age, location, ability and financial background.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of online learning, I still believe that it is a positive development of education.