Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, a number of universities provide online courses which students can be attended class on the internet. As the development of the IT industry, there has been a growing debate about whether an online class is beneficial or negative for undergraduates. this essay will identify both the benefits and drawbacks surrounding this issue before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with the points in favour of the online course, the most persuasive one is perhaps that it offers flexibility to students which means they don't have to attend a class on time. In other words, they are able to perform outside activities such as a part-time job or leisure while they can attend a course anytime and anywhere. To illustrate, some students of TAFE who are householders are available to study online during caring for their children. Another point often made by opponents who prefer internet resources is that it coasts cheaper than practical classes. This is because pupils should pay fees for other activities when they attend real classes at the university. For example, schoolers should pay for transportation, lunch or instruments for practical classes.

Despite the advantages discussed above, there are a number of disadvantages as well. One of the most conspicuous disadvantages is perhaps that there is a lack of relationship between professors and pupils. This is evidenced by the fact that they cannot see each other and it could be a negative impact on students' grade. For instance, learners cannot require the questions directly when they watch the video classes and it could take a long time to gain feedback from teachers by email. As well as this, there would have illegal methods to attend classes or submit assignments. This is because no one can prove that the attendant is the right person, or the assignments are written by the student or anyone else. For example, many students illegally duplicate references from others who were senior students which is a crucial problem in many universities.

To sum up, it can be observed that there are both benefits and ill effects in relation to the online class. To choose which side I am on, I believe that online courses have numerous benefits, owing to the reasons discussed above although there are still some negative effects remained.