Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus Do you think this is a positive or negative development

The breakthroughs of technological advances allows many universities to offer their students online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Personally, I believe this current trend has both pros and cons. This essay will discuss both sides of this trend.

On the one hand, there are certains benefits that online courses can give students.

Firstly, one vital advantage of e-learning is that it helps students to study during the pandemic.During this harsh time, many college students can not attend in-person classes. Now, with the appearance of online courses, they can still study without their lessons being postponed. Compared with traditional classes, online classes are more flexible in terms of schedule. Many students have strict time management so it will be too difficult for them to study on a regular basis. Online courses provide learners with a wider range of time-table. Thus, students who are busy working or doing other tasks in the morning can now apply to evening classes and vice versa. Second of all, it also supports undergraduates who have to give up on school because of poverty. In this case, online courses with reasonable prices can be helpful as these give them more chances to enroll in their favorite majors without having more financial burdens. Therefore, this has aided in building a virtual platform for students to learn well at their own pace and can even inculcate the knowledge of specified subjects even in critical situations.

On the other hand, this teaching method also has some undeniable disadvantages such as lack of interactions or focusing problems. It can be seen that these classes prevent them from having actual interactions with their fellows or lecturers. Since online courses do not offer in-person-class, students find it difficult to discuss some problems they meet during lessons with their teachers or tutors. For instance, medical or architecture students have practical exercises, and they may have difficulties showing their issues to the lecturers. Secondly, studying online can diminish their concentration on the lectures. While having classes, pupils can be distracted by notifications from other applications such as Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter. Instead of focusing on work, a lot of students will have a bad habit of checking their notifications whenever they turn on their mobile devices for online classes. Another factor that harmfully affects the undergraduates' ability to study is the internet connection. During the pandemic, new applications were created to help people hold classes through the internet. However, many students reviewed that the unstable connections have prevented them from having proper lessons through these applications. These factors, consequently, may affect their ability to understand the major and discourage them from studying.

To sum up, e-learning has indeed brought about many benefits to learners. Nonetheless, there are still a lot of problems that need to be taken into consideration to innovate this type of education.