Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is believed that online classes have been suggested to alter traditional ones at many universities. In my opinion, despite some drawbacks, this also have positive impacts on higher education to improve educational quality.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that learning directly plays a crucial role in educating learners. Initially, on-campus courses provide students more networking opportunities. By providing chances to interact and build relationships with peers and professors, they can gain a great deal of experience, which is valuable for career development. In contrast, due to lacking of face-to-face interactions of traditional classes, online learning can be isolating that affects students’ engagement and motivation. For example, while in traditional classrooms, students can engage in discussions, group projects, and social activities, fostering a sense of community, online ones are opposite. A study of University of Melbourne indicated that students in online classes frequently miss the spontaneous conservations and social bonding that occur in physical classrooms due to lacking of interactions on discussion boards or occasional video calls, leads to feeling less personal.

On the other hand, despite some negative potential, the advantage of engaging in a course through digital devices can bring a number of abilities. First, students can arrange their schedule properly due to its flexibility and convenience. Online classes allow them to study at their own pace and one their own schedule, which is beneficial for working professionals, parents, or those with other commitments. With internet connecting, learners can assess many materials from a lot of sources makes it easier for those who live far away from campus or have mobility issues to pursue higher education. Furthermore, online courses offer cost-effectiveness, less expenses. If in-person courses requires more campus-related expenses, the online ones are less, referring to commuting, houses, and so on. Which I mean, in some universities, they only offer lower tuition rates for online courses.

In conclusion, despite some disadvantages related to interactions, I believe that the various benefits in terms of accessibility, flexibility, and cost-effectiveness make online learning a positive development in current life.