Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary era, when a great number of occupations occurred, there has been a debate regarding whether students should get down to achieve one degree or to pursue many other subjects. In my opinion, it is necessary for students to settle down their life with a particular qualification before engaging in a wide range of fields.

On the one hand, the benefits for exploring a variety of subjects are diverse. Firstly, enrolling in many courses might help students find out what they are actually enthusiastic about. As a result, they could major in a certain field without being disorientated. For example there were many people in Vietnam who were previously oriented to pursue a degree in medicine and were forced to learn math, biology, and chemistry only. Those learners, after finding those subjects arduous challenges, gave up and turned into being unemployed in light of not knowing other aspects of life.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that acquiring a specific skill for one's own first is of the utmost importance. To be specific, it is stated that students who spend almost all of their time delving into a small number of subjects are better than those who have high academic performance in all subjects. The very first reason is, according to many studies, scientists have found that people who invested 20,000 hours in learning a specific thing are more inclined to have a fruitful career than those striving for being masters in all fields yet spending less time on them. Besides, there would not be distress from teachers who indicate that one should be adept in their subjects, leading to fewer mental problems being encountered.

In conclusion, while broadening the horizon in a myriad of subjects might bring advantages such as giving job orientation, I hold the view that concentrating in only one degree plays the more vital role in one's life, which incentivizes them to pursue a better life, both physically and mentally.