Space exploration is a waste of money. Do you agree or disagree?

Since 12th April 1961, when the first spaceship - the Sputnik 1 spacecraft successfully launched in space, the race to discover the mystery of space has never stopped. The governments of powerful nations have spent a considerable amount of money on space exploration, a lot more than the money they use to help improve the quality of citizen’s lives. So personally, I think that space exploration is a total waste of money.

The antagonist believes that the budget used to discover space is meaningful. Because the conditions on Earth have been getting worse every year and they think that finding a new planet is the only option to save humanity from extinction. But to me, those beliefs are quite fictional, unrealistic.

That money should be used to save the environmental problems on Earth. First of all, a pack of seeds only cost about $3, an adult tree has the price of $160. So to build a forest consisting of 100 trees, we only spend about $16000. That seems like a big deal to ordinary people but it’s nothing compared to the budget that the government spent for the space projects. A forest can provide us with fresh air. A forest is also a habitat of hundreds of insects, birds, and mushrooms. A forest is also a shield to prevent soil erosion, flood, house destruction, and death. Only $16000 can save us from natural disasters, lung diseases, losing properties, or loved ones and provide a home for a new ecosystem, that sounds like a worthy investment to me. Furthermore, there are no risks in planting trees at all, so your money is totally safe. But in the space industry, you can’t guarantee anything, a million dollars may also burn with a failed project.

Secondly, the search for new living planets will cause discriminations, racism, class divisions. The moment that a new living planet is discovered, billionaires, millionaires will fight their ways to leave Earth and move to live on planets. They have money, power, so there is nothing that can stop them. But to people who already suffer from poverty, they have no other choice, they can only accept their fate and die with Earth. That’s why space exploration will affect the equality in society and harm the rights of a person.

To conclude, I think that the governments of powerful nations should reduce the budget of space exploration, and truly make the people’s taxes worth it by providing them with a better, equal life, not with a hopeless future for poor people.