In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

According to the latest statistics, over last decades, a large part of world population suffer from starvation. Despite the fact that some significant development has been done in agriculture, but lack of food is one of the most considerable challenges. The reasons and solutions are discussed throughout the following paragraphs.

First of all, it should be stuck in the mind that several factors can influence the food productivity. As an outstanding instance, climate pattern changing which play a key role in global warming and increase in greenhouse gases, consequently, less rainfall. Another factor would be natural disaster such as drought or attack of pest which lead to destruction of crops.

On the other hand, overpopulation due to high birthrate or high immigration rate will bring with it high demand for food. Usage of fertilizer or pesticide to increase the productivity of farms cause soil degradation. In fact, the quality and quantity of crops has decreased because of soil erosion and depletion of mineral sources.

The third main reason is associated with political conflicts which restrict the international export and import of essential and modern agricultural equipment or material which impact people eating habits. Also, in those countries who are engaged in war, farmer might not be able to harvest crops and consequently, the price of food will surge and not many family are able to afford.

What can be done? There are some measure to be taken to address this problem. First, government should offer some financial assistance to farmer and provide them with some low interest loans to expand their activities. Another step that should be taken by government is prompting international relationships with developed countries to transfer new technologies to cultivate in mire area such as deserts. It should be mentioned that some friendly environmental programs should be applied to decline the effect of global warming.

Taking everything into consideration, it seems that several factors are contributed to shortage of food such as climate change, natural disaster, war, soil degradation. Besides, there are some solution to solve this problem.