In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Recent years have witnessed tremendous developments in the agricultural sector, yet millions of people continue to suffer and even die from hunger. In my view, there exist some main reasons to this phenomenon, which could be addressed by a number of appropriate remedies.

When it comes to world hunger, many causes contribute to this grave problem. Climate change is likely to reduce global food potential and production, thereby increasing the risk of hunger, especially in marginalized economies. As extreme rainfall, prolonged droughts, and natural disasters become more frequent and capricious, farmers are becoming more vulnerable to climate change, hence many calamitous consequences in many regions in the world. Besides, these fluctuations in weather system lead to food volatility, which results in malnutrition. Another indispensable fact is that not all of the food produced is consumed. Food production also uses up precious natural resources; therefore, this wastage represents a missed opportunity to improve global food security.

There are several actions that governments could perform to alleviate the foregoing problems. First, early warning systems for extreme weather should be improved so that farmers have enough time to prepare for those events and take necessary actions to save their crops. Secondly, more experienced scientists and experts in the field of agriculture should be sent to regions frequently suffering from climate change so that they can do more researches and find the most effective methods to improve food production in these areas. Finally, governments and large organisations should raise humanitarian funds focused on food aid to support people who have difficulty.

In conclusion, although it is obvious that productivity in agriculture has improved owing to technology advances, numerous people are still deprived of the food necessity. However, governments must take responsibility for implementing measures to enhance the life quality for the poor and reduce the poverty rate.