Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The ability to interact with other people in both verbal and written forms has always been a precious gift that human beings are given. Many people consider oral communication to be more persuasive than and superior to written way. In my perspective, I partly approve of this statement.

There are plenty of reasons to assert that verbal interaction is more influential than written one. Firstly, thanks to spoken communication, speakers can effectively express their feelings and emotions through various tones and pitches, which written form can hardly deliver. For example, when speakers want to express their happiness, they can use cheerful and energetic voices. Likewise, when one is sorrowful and melancholic, their voice would be low and down. As a result, others will eventually understand and sympathize with their feelings and sentiments. In fact, many politicians and political candidates usually capitalize on the empathy and approval of citizens by launching numerous outdoor campaigns. This approach will help them take full advantage of their eloquence and people’s agreement so that they are able to receive more votes.

On the other hand, however, in some special cases, written communication will play a more powerful role when compared to spoken form. One of the most prominent examples of this phenomenon is books and poems. They are myriads of poems and novels in the world that have received love and appreciation from readers and evaluators ever since they were published. The reason for this phenomenon lies in the emotions and messages that writers and novelists, as well as poets, want to convey. These messages can be some advice to numerous people suffering from grief and sorrow, or ones excruciated by despair and fears to keep believing in themselves and get over unhappiness and pain. These messages have succeeded in touching people’s hearts and lived forever in their memories.

In summary, the capability to communicate with other people in both spoken and written form is a precious present that nature has given human beings throughout the journey of progressing and evolving of our kinds. That is why we ought to make full use of our ability to make this world a place full of joy and contentment.