Sports stars are paid too much for what they do. Discuss.

These days, most sports stars are earning a fortune amount of money. Most athletes in sports such as football, basketball, and mixed martial arts (MMA) can be seen having luxury lives, owning brand-new cars, stunning mansions, and other properties. However, some people believe athletes do not deserve their income. I am completely against this idea and in this essay, I will support my view by giving examples.

Firstly, sports stars are paid what they generate. In other words, their representative teams are making massive revenues each year. Earnings come from different perspectives such as broadcasting licenses, sponsorship deals, press conferences, social media, and so on. Even more, stadiums are packed with thousands of spectators in every tournament worldwide. Therefore, athletes are getting paid according to the demand of the sports market.

Another reason why I disagree is that professional sportsmen have sacrificed a lot in their personal lives. Since playing games involve traveling, they are forced to flee from their parents, partners, and kids. Moreover, most athletes need to take advantage of ranking at the top spot by abandoning their education opportunities in their childhood. What’s more, the lives of sports stars and famous musicians and actors are quite similar too. Extreme success and fame diminish the privacy and safety of a person. Whenever they go out, they face paparazzi, supporters, and interviewers everywhere.

On the other hand, some people say sports stars are even more paid than other critical jobs in our society and world such as doctors, engineers, and scientists. A proportion of their income can be spent on serious matters like poverty, education, eco-friendly projects, and more. So, they firmly think that our society should prioritize other crucial parts than entertainment.

To conclude, global athletes have made a huge dedication and given a concerted effort to make a pro. Millions of people find watching sports entertaining and inspiring especially in this hectic era. Personally, I believe sports stars truly deserve their income.