Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is convenient, it has many negative effects and its use for educational purposes should be restricted.

How far do you agree with this statement?

A lot of people believe that besides the benefits that the internet could bring to the students, the Internet can also be a two-sided knife and therefore there should be some restriction on the use of the internet for educational purposes. Personally, I only partially agree with this statement, that the internet has many negative effects but I don’t think that its use for educational purposes should be restricted.

On one hand, there are indeed many drawbacks when it comes to using the Internet to study. First, students can develop the tendency to rely on the Internet, and therefore hinder their academic performance in the long run. Having all information and answers right at their fingertips, students could then develop a habit of copying answers right from the Internet, which in long term would worsen student’s critical thinking skills and when it comes to in-person tests where the Internet is not available, performance could be negatively affected. Also, the Internet can be a distraction for students, in which notifications of social media apps such as Facebook, Instagram or Tiktok can easily disturb them and slow down the study process because a majority of students are likely to check their phones as a habit.

However, the Interweb is an essential part of some students owing to the large amount of information that it provides for researching purposes and or assignments. Nowadays, various new learning methods required students actively learning and searching for information, which resulted in the need of using the internet. Or as COVID 19 has led to the appearance of online learning, thus, increasing the usage of the internet for educational purposes. Therefore, it is quite difficult to implement any restriction without affecting the studying process of students. It would need to come down to each individual to make good choices while using the Internet for academic purposes. One example would be to have a parent keep the child’s phone and/or use software to block out notifications while studying, so that the students will not be disturb and use social media while studying.

To conclude, the Internet could be a two-sided knife, in which, despite the beneficial effects that the Internet has brought to studies and research, it also causes negative effects unless the students cannot control themselves and adjust the timetable suitably. Hence, the parents should manage the time of using technological devices of their children.