Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socializing online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

It is undeniable that nowadays adolescents tend to chat with each other online instead of face-to-face. However, there are a myriad of solutions that we could take steps to inspire them to consume extra time interacting directly with one another.

That teenagers would rather have online communication than in person stems from numerous reasons. Firstly, social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter are developing ubiquitously, and virtual adolescents use them to contact each other. They are not only comfortable but also convenient. For instance, students who are staying in beds or sitting in their living rooms can communicate with their friends easily without spending time meeting each other. On top of that, one of the most certain reasons is that online communication gives them a kind of freedom. Teenagers can reply flexibly whenever they want and have a chance to rethink anything before saying while they cannot fix what they have said in face-to-face communication.

There are several actions that we could take to solve the problems. First of all, a simple solution would be to educate teenagers to be aware of the benefit of face-to-face meeting which helps them to build new relationships and make focusing easier. In addition, a second solution would be for parents to set up limited time for their children to use smartphones. Last but not least, governments should support organizing many clubs and social activities for teenagers to take part in instead of staying at home and chatting online. As a result, they will meet new friends in addition to becoming more active.

In summary, there are various factors leading to adolescents using social media platforms to chat in place of face-to-face, and measures can be implemented to tackle this issue.