Summarise the talk

The video is devoted to the problems of traditional universities, and it talks about the attempt of scholar David Helfand to redesign tertiary education. The narrator begins with the popular idea that universities are close to demise. The speaker goes on to say today colleges perform multiple social tasks and these tasks are contrary to the main goal of universities - education.

David Helfand uses a personal example to encapsulate the difference between the attitude of students to study at different stages. The narrator points out that fourth-graders ask questions with insatiable curiosity and without shyness, while students consider this as a weakness. In addition, Dr. Helfand says that students do not pay for knowledge, but for an academic degree.

As a result, such a situation motivated the speaker to create a university of the 21st century. The main purpose is to open up minds and lead forth. There are several fundamental rules of this university: the absence of departments and professorships, seminars instead of lectures, a special curriculum and block system of classes.

The author concludes that the primary aim of the current education system is to teach students to conquer discouraging situations that fill the 21st century.

In my opinion, the world is changing rapidly, but education is lagging behind these changes. Now there is a new generation of students who need to be taught not only theoretical knowledge, but also analytical thinking, soft skills, etc.