What are the advantages and disadvantages of open group discussions during class? Express your opinion.

There is no doubt that collective speculation on different topics during the lesson has always been under scrutiny. The type of discussion has several serious drawbacks including the appearance of conflicts and the impairment of the relationships between people. However, there are obvious benefits such as the golden opportunity to generate myriads of relevant ideas and foster the ability to protect your own opinion will be considered in the essay.

On the one hand, discussions in a group are likely to have a detrimental impact on people’s relationships. The reason is that during the expression of a particular viewpoint some may absolutely disagree with the statement and start convincing others that they are totally wrong. It inevitably leads to severe friction, and because of this group members shape a negative attitude to each other. For example, on literature lessons pupils often discuss the behaviour of book characters. Some personages act in an ambiguous way that is why a part of students estimate the demeanor positively, while the rest of undergraduates treat it negatively. Students start protecting their own views, provoking continuous quarrels and exacerbating conflicts.

On the other hand, there are some convincing arguments in favour of collective speculation during the lesson. To commence with, group discussions open up the avenue to come up with a range of unique ideas. While one is expressing their opinions and thoughts, others are able to look at the issue from a different angle. It contributes to the generation of extraordinary ideas and suggestions, enabling group members to think out of the box and investigate the topic of the class in a more profound way. In addition, during collective discussion, people are taught to provide strong arguments in support of their viewpoints and also listen to the opponents’ positions with tolerance. It fosters the sense of respect in people, because this way they learn to interact with an interlocutor during debates properly.

To conclude, despite some formidable criticisms of collective speculation including conflict development and a destructive influence on people’s attitude to each other, the benefits such as the opportunity to generate and express a number of captivating ideas and learn how to behave during discussion certainly outweigh.