Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas.

Do you agree or disagree?

Regardless of what era we live in, we all need food as our essential basic necessity, so it is not surprising that the food industry has become a lucrative one, with food shops and outlets attracting customers with a wider variety of products including imported ones. There arises a debatable issue of whether it is a sensible idea to impose a ban on imports and I think it is surely a sensible measure we should take for several reasons.

One argument in favor of selling food produced domestically is that

it can have a positive impact on those involved in the local food industry ranging from farms to suppliers and food manufacturers. In other words, if imports were not available, the demand for local food would definitely soar, meaning that

the yearly per capita income of agricultural workers is likely to increase, employment opportunities will be abundant and the economic development of the country will also result from this.

Another reason why imports should be banned is that apart from them being too expensive for people from low and average-income families, they contain some chemical preservatives in order to increase durability as they need to be shipped from foreign countries to their respective destinations. This can be harmful to consumers’ health since the consumption of these would lead to medical diseases such as gastric problems and even cancers. On the other hand, locally produced ones are healthier, which is due to the fact that they are fresh since they are directly delivered from local farms and suppliers.

Last but not least, we should not underestimate the important role local food plays in maintaining our food traditions and cultural heritage. It is a shame that some young generation do not appreciate their own traditional food as they are too attracted to foreign products, and therefore prohibiting such imported food can be viewed as protecting our own traditions. Some might argue that imports are necessary because some foods cannot be cultivated locally due to weather or the quality of the soil. However, in my opinion, it is to do with improving our farming methods.