taking a gap year

It is true that in some countries, students often take a few years off after finishing their high school studies for working before studying at university. While this tendency is conducive to several positive outcomes, I would maintain that it is overall a negative development.

On the one hand, taking years out before starting university is beneficial in some ways. For one, this can give students a chance to further develop their skills. For example, students can participate in a volunteer experience domestically or in another country for an extended period, which helps them to gain a lot of real experience and skills in their chosen profession. As a result, people are likely to acquire maturity and well perform when enrolled in university. Another advantage is that by working, young people will be able to earn money as soon as possible. In fact, during that year there would be a chance to earn money to help with college expenses, and since students will likely be mature enough, they will be able to live independently on their income, which helps them save a huge amount of money for their family.

On the other hand, I believe that such merits are negated by the following drawbacks. It must first be recognized that several students are disrupted their studies after a few years working. In fact, the time off is too long and students have a lack of interest in the study. As a result, young people are likely to drop out of college in order to continue their works. In addition to this, the life out of the university campus may prove to be mentally and physically overwhelming for inexperienced school - leavers. They, for instance, may be at risk of being exploited in an exhausting job or face potential dangers on their trips to a new country. If not well-prepared for such possible obstacles, young high school graduates can suffer from unintended consequences.

In conclusion, while the trend that taking a few years for working after high school has numerous obvious benefits, it is my belief that the drawbacks are a significant weight.