Task 2: Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people claim that the authorities should make individuals responsible for concerning their area's environment. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view for several reasons.

Firstly, individuals can completely reduce the polluted conditions in their areas. Thus, people contribute and take care of the environment by some small activities. This can help to improve as well as decrease many kinds of pollution such as air pollution, water pollution and so on which are damaging our habitat. For instance, to reduce air pollution in some megacities, citizens can use some friendly vehicles such as bicycles, electric vehicles, and even walking. Hence, the use of fuels and the levels of contaminated air will be reduced. Another example is that many people should stop using plastic bags as it is one of the main reasons leading to soil pollution. Moreover, individuals can use paper bags instead of using plastic ones. These examples show that individuals can play an important role to protect the environment.

Secondly, the authorities should take some actions to prevent pollution in the world. Specifically, public awareness should be improved on the positive effects of protecting the environment. For example, Singapore is well-known as the country with the healthiest and cleanest environment in the world. This is because of the strict measures with raising awareness of citizens to avoid the negative actions which affect the environment and ecosystem. In addition, children also should be taught to understand the importance of our habitat. To give a clear example, in Vietnam, many schools often hold campaigns to clean the rubbish in some public areas such as forests or coastal areas.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that individuals can preserve and improve their local habitat. Additionally, the government should take more measures to raise awareness of citizens about the importance of the environment.