Task 2. Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

In modern life, the development of technology can bring about dependence on leisure activities. In my view, this phenomenon has both benefits and drawbacks that depend on each individual circumstance and how technology is utilized.

Technology can support people in various life aspects, and they can take advantage of technology in leisure activities. To begin with, technology can make leisure activities more convenient and accessible. Specifically, people can watch movies or play online games in their home, reducing physical and outdoor activities, which lead to easier to find entertaining choices. Secondly, technology has expanded a variety of options for leisure activities. The internet, for example, provides a range of content such as movies, music, educational resources, and social networking for almost all individuals. Moreover, technology facilitates social interaction and connection. Especially in Covid-19 pandemic, face-to-face meetings were limited by social distancing. Video calls, online gaming and social platforms enable users to keep in touch with their families and friends.

However, using technology incorrectly can cause many risks that people have to face. The first disadvantage would be addition and distraction. Some people become addicted to technology and spend plenty of time on devices, which can impact negatively on work productivity and mental health. Smartphone addiction is an example that is a concern for many people. Furthermore, technology raises social isolation. Although technology facilitates social connection, it also can result in social isolation if people prioritize online interactions more than direct relationships. Overuse of social media can lead to feelings of loneliness and isolation. Finally, relying heavily on technology for entertainment can make people ignore the benefits of traditional leisure activities. For instance, playing sports in nature may encourage creativity and imagination that watching movies or TV shows may not.

All in all, people should have plans that balance using technology in leisure activities. Entertainment with technology can have a lot of benefits, but it should be used mindfully.