Task 2: Some people think that scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days, there is a significant divergence of opinions revolving around the priority of scientific research. Some assert that the welfare of global citizens is of paramount importance because it directly influences a person’s contribution to the society, while the skeptics accentuate the urgency of other issues, namely education and environmental problems. Considering the root causes of health problems and the long-term view for humanity, I am in accord with the later approach.

Advocates of scientific findings’ emphasis on tackling health issues maintain the utmost importance of citizens’ contribution. Since health is a fundamental element of every person to become an active contributor to the society, it should be optimized. By paying attention to the healthcare system, citizens reap the benefits of both physical and mental well-being, therefore being continuously energised to keep working and studying on a regular basis. Besides, devising new methods and inventing cutting-edge technology for disease treatment could also help alleviating the effects of contagious illnesses, thereby lowering the rate of people suffering from ailments or infection, especially amidst the COVID-19 pandemic.

The focus of scientific research on education and environment offers a much more holistic approach to ensuring the well-being of denizens, as well as opening a gateway to bright future for humanity. Concerning environment, it is worth noting that the environmental issues are the primary causes of disease. A salient example can be seen in the ubiquitous phenomenon of air pollution in large cities, which engender respiratory diseases and breathing problems. In addition, preserving the dying environment is the top priority as the environmentally destructive activities that humans are undergoing have a direct and adverse impact on the survival of themselves. Education is another promising area that science should give priority. Identically, the lack of understanding of many people leads them to cultivate unhealthy lifestyles without considering the potential repercussions. For example, obesity is a popular disease among the young in many countries, which implies an urgency for awareness. Furthermore, education opens a pathway to a knowledgeable society, which boosts the innovation of the world and the development of economy as a whole.

In recapitulation, although healthcare issues might play a vital role in a person’s contribution level, education and environment appear much more promising fields that worth the attention of research. Acquiring a long-term view is much more beneficial than fulfilling short-term goals. Meanwhile, everyone should be heading towards solving the root causes of world health problems and seek overall innovation.