Task 2: Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on more important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is incontrovertible that there are several conflicting arguments about studying food science and its preparation. While there is a widespread belief that these subjects should be made obsolete from the curriculum, I firmly concur that the science of food and preparation should form an integral part of educational institutions.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that timetables in secondary school have already been full of several crucial subjects. Moreover, it is impossible to compare them with food-related subjects in terms of their essentiality for students to move up to a career ladder. For example, several subjects such as mathematics, natural science, and IT, along with many vital soft skills such as communication or teamwork, play an indispensable role for students to gain more job prospects when entering adult life. Sometimes, there are also some apprenticeship programs or voluntary activities included in the schedules, which are occupied full of available spaces in the timetable.

On the other hand, I believe that food and diet are of paramount importance for health, which should be a part of the student curriculum. Firstly, the knowledge of food science is also related to human biology, involving the study of building up the immune system, and the effects of a balanced diet on human health. Furthermore, it is also related to biochemistry. Thus, students can be provided with more opportunities to have a good grasp of coloring and flavoring, as well as food labeling and chemical preservatives, which may play a crucial role for those who want to pursue their university in biology or medicine. Finally, being equipped with knowledge of food science also raise health awareness among students, which helps them practice hygiene standards and obtain the lifelong skill of preparing nutritious and home-cooked foods.

In conclusion, although the school curriculum is crowded, I still agree with the opinion that food science and its preparation must be compulsory lectures in the study plans of students.