Task 2: Today, TV channels provide man’s sport shows more than women’s sports shows, why? Should TV channels give equal time to women’s sport and men’s sport?

Sports programs for men have indeed dominated those of their counterparts on television in recent years. There could be several explanations for this trend, and I believe that TV channels should not change the amount of time for these shows.

There are two main reasons why man’s sports shows are broadcast more frequently on television. Firstly, there are a few options for TV programs that men can choose. While women could enjoy a wide range of different selections, such as a series of drama and talent contests, men’s choices may be restricted to sports events. Therefore, it is understandable that the amount of time showing man’s sports programs is much higher. Secondly, men are likely to have a keen interest in sports than women. Since men could have much leisure time to watch a whole sport session, they could entirely enjoy the show without any interruptions. Whereas, female audiences may have to do household chores and listen to TV channels simultaneously, which makes them resort to a more auditory program such as a talk show or a music competition.

In my opinion, TV channels should maintain the current schedules of showing sports programs for both genders. I believe that the frequency and variety of each mentioned show should be measured according to the actual preference of audiences. If TV broadcasters tried to balance the time of sports shows for men and women, they would cut down on either time for men’s sports programs or women’s other shows. By doing this, the specific number of viewers on a particular program tends to reduce. As a result, the profits of these channels would be diminished, which leads to limited budgets for other programs on television. In this sense, both media agencies and audiences may suffer from dissatisfaction since their needs could not be met. Hence, as long as there is no complaint from TV viewers, the broadcast of sports events should remain unchanged.

In conclusion, I believe that there are rationales behind the decision of more on-air man’s sports shows; therefore, this should be maintained.