TASK 2: The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the era of technology, online conversations are gradually replacing meeting in person. From my point of view, it is apparent that there are numerous positive aspects, and this trend is also malicious exploitation.

It’s undeniable that social media gives human superiority by bringing the ease of communication. To be specific, entrepreneurs, who usually have business trips far from home can relieve their homesickness by video calling with their families via Facebook, WhatsApp. Another application of social media in the information transmission is organizing online meetings, which Zoom and Microsoft Teams allow users to do with their business partners.

In addition to the positive impacts to the human beings, online communication can lead to unsustainable relationships. In the 4.0 era, people can easily make new friends by swiping on dating apps such as Bumble and Tinder. Even though their social networks can be extended, they can also be cut off by ignoring messages. Moreover, face-to-face interactions tend to reduce since everyone is busy with their personal life and we can contact with others in only one click.

To sum up, social media is the convenient tool used widely in the modern life. However, I personally believe it still has some negative consequences on human interactions.