Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong. Why are universities becoming more competent? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, curriculums in university have been more and more compenent for students as many reasons. In my opinion, this is positive development, however, it also brings negative effects on learners. I will give my viewpoints in this essay below.

On the one hand, the competition in university contributes to the development of young people. It is immuatably true that it help college students have better future. For instance, they can have more opportunities to get the higher salaries and more potential jobs as the foundation which they learnt from the university. The hard curriculums require students make an enormous effort to finish and achieve the high scores; therefore, they can expand their professional knowledge to prepare for their future.

On the other hand, the competition at universities also effects negatively on undergraduates. In the modern life, as the requirement from the enterprises for the high quality workers, the education programs consolidate knowledge of learners by force them to study under high pressure. If this situation occurs for a long time, it may lead to various mental health problems in students such as anxiety disorder or depression. Therefore, undergraduates should balance between their study and their life and spend more time for other social activities in order to reduce stress and studying pressure.

To sum up, despite the fact that the competion for university learners brings the beneficial effects on their development, I personally believe that it can cause stress for college students. It is better if they can balance between study and their life and take part in social activites after school.