Televised talent shows have become popular in many societies today. Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, or are they just entertainment?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, the demand for entertainment has constantly increased, resulting in a rise in the number of talent competitions broadcast on television. While a part of people believe that these programs are an effective way of seeking for new gifted artists, I individually consider them to be solely entertainment.

First of all, the unfairness in talent shows is always a hotly-debated topic on social media. Compared to those who have beautiful visuals or touching stories, gifted contestants without striking appearances have less airtime and media coverage. This puts them at a disadvantage when performing the audience voting round. Even in many programs, the winners are pre-determined at the beginning, so real talented people do not get a chance to show their abilities and receive what they deserve. By way of illustration, the director of a 2018 reality competition show called Produce48 admitted manipulating the result. The capable participants were eliminated while the pretty but incompetent girls debuted as an idol group.

On the other hand, televised contests tend to focus on creating drama in order to grab people's attention instead of their original purposes. By evilly editing, heated debates will appear widespread on social media such as Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, to name but a few. Many people will notice the controversy and become curious, therefore, the number of views will have enormous growth bringing more benefits for producers. Chasing tastes and profits keep these shows evolving in the right direction. This is true of The Face Vietnam, which is a reality television modeling competition series.

In conclusion, the truthfulness of finding-talent shows does not be ensured because of commercial purposes. Throughout the contest, more or less, there are deliberate arrangements of the operations and results. I can firmly say that this kind of TV program is not a real playground for the gifted, and so, we should consider it as an interesting approach to entertainment.