The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there is a trend among a lot of people to mimic the choices of others when buying something. Many brands have been established by this trend. However, it is still untrue in many cases where people choose according to their real needs.

There are many people in this world, especially in the rich category, who spend a lot of money after being enchanted by the products used by their friends or neighbours. Many companies are becoming very popular not because of their real contribution to the society but for these people who can easily be locked into the so-called current trends. For example, IPhone has become the top smartphone brand not because of its value-for-money but for the rich and stylish people who pay thousand dollars just for show-off. Besides, high sale of many cosmetics and clothes is the result of the people copying their friends’ choices without considering the real benefits.

However, it seems that this trend is changing day by day and more and more people are focusing on their real needs because of the increasing awareness and analytical tools. For example, in India, sale of Xiaomi smartphones, which provide a lot of features with reasonable prices, has outstripped the top smartphone brands- iPhone and Samsung in 2017. The reason why more and more people are seeking for reals needs and value-for-money is that, compared to the increasing number of day-to-day expenses their income is low, which forces them to focus on the real benefits of the products.

In conclusion, it is true that a large volume of sale of some established brands is the result of freaky people who focus on others’ choices to keep themselves updated. However, there are still many people who buy based on their real needs.