Many museums charge for admission while others are free?

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums in many countries are open for all without charge while some countries still charge its public to enter there. Although there are some kinds of benefits of charging people in terms of financial health, I believe that the disadvantages of charging people are more than advantages.

One of the main advantages of charging people to enter in the museums is that museums can be financially strong. In some countries, governments do not spend much on their museums as they think it is a waste of money. Even if museums get financial assistance from the government, this is uncertain in the future due to unavoidable issues, for example economic disaster. In this case, it is sensible for the museums to charge some money and save the earnings for future crisis. Besides, if people are charged for entry, museums will not be overcrowded as people will be demotivated to go there with lots of friends, and thus authorities could manage the museums peacefully.

Although museums can be financially strong by charging visitors, the basic principle of the museums might not be established. The basic purpose of the museum is to enrich the knowledge of the public with country’s history and culture. If people have to pay entry fee, they will easily be demotivated to visit there as it is not possible for many people to afford entry fee, and thus the purpose of establishing museums will not be fulfilled. It is the government responsibility to assist the museums financially. Besides, if museums are free, rather than wasting time on internet or gossiping with friends, young people will be encouraged to spend time in museums, and thus deterring youth from wasteful activities.

To conclude, although museums can be benefitted financially by charging an entry fee, the drawbacks of this policy are more than benefits.