The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the trend of news stories in the mainstream media channels to concentrate more on problems and urgent issues than positive development, and this tendency is harmful to people. I partly concur with the point of view, because whereas focusing regularly on negative aspects of society can help people be aware of its effects, this can have a detrimental effect on people’s mental state.

On the one hand, it has been widely demonstrated that focusing frequently on negative development in the media can raise awareness of citizens related to its impact. In reality, the media can be seen as an effective way to spread the news, to even the most remote areas, for this reason, people can foresee the problems and urgent issues in order to avoid them. For instance, when being informed in advance about the coming of a forthcoming storm, inhabitants of dangerous areas can plan to evacuate to a safer place. As a result, it is imperative to concentrate on this problem in the media before getting really serious.

On the other hand, it is undoubted that concentrating more on negative aspects of society in the media can have an adverse impact on people’s mental state. Given the fact that there are numerous mainstream media channels being not trustworthy. Additionally, they create regularly a lot of misunderstanding information in order to earn profit. This can be evidenced by Channel 14, administrator of this channel has to pay a fine owing to publishing false information about covid-19, then the large number of households have to isolate from their building. As a consequence, this results in anxiety affecting their mental state.

In conclusion, I partly agree with this view, because while concentrating frequently on negative development in the media can help citizens become aware of effects, this has a far-reaching consequence such as people’s mental state.