The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harm to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, numerous news media prefer reporting problems and emergencies to publishing positive developments which will adversely affect individual and general society. I, personally, consent to positive reasons of this issue, which I will elucidate more below.

To begin with, many TV channels such as travelling and culinary news greatly improve economic growth of certain regions. To illustrate, many journalists who explore hidden gem attractions (food and tradition) may captivate tourist arrivals significantly supporting the increase of local revenue. Moreover, viewing a journey of natural disaster recovery could encourage optimism and enthusiasm of the citizen. Take Japan government as an example, instead of showing deep hurt which will inflict traumatic, this nation only shares mitigation, evacuation and how to refurbish infrastructures. This results in public awareness of undertaking self-help effort, prevention and emergency relief.

On the other hand, being conveyed by latest information to society greatly assist ones to take precautions. The fact published by US Embassy and Consulates in Indonesia, the second rank of criminal rates, human traficking in this nation, prompts more awareness of illegal agencies when applying for immigrant workers. In addition, the number of up-to-the-minute news could ensure public transparency which promotes greater accountability from government. A recent pandemic COVID-19 has been accompanied by numerous disinformation incuring the waves of distrust among public. To work with press coverage gaining public response might lower such challenge.

In conclusion, in my standpoint, the preference of reporting and multimedia journalism delivering headlines news and issues are to leverage public awareness of undertaking preventive measures along with promoting open government principles. This is as long as press media informs many supportive news to establish public positivity.