in their advertising businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some ways Why is this Do you think this is a positive or negative development

Nowadays, the increased competition in any business, has forced business owners to get creative in the marketing schemes adopted by them. As the prompt suggests, modern businesses aim to sell their products by labelling them as new in some way. This is a smart thing to do from a business point of view but there can be some repercussions on the consumers. The detailed reasons of why businesses adopt this strategy and the positive and negative aspects of this development on both the sellers and consumers will be discussed below.

First of all, the society that we live in is very cut-throat and if someone falls behind, there are plenty of others in the market to take their place. As a result, it is essential to stay ahead of the pack by any means possible. Thus, selling one's product becomes easier if they provide something new in some way. For example: the Mobile Financial Service(MFS) industry in Bangladesh which was once solely dominated by Bkash(the first MFS provider in Bangladesh) has become quite saturated now with new companies like: Nogod, SureCash and Rocket entering the market. Consequently, the dominance that Bkash once had is long gone. On the other hand, Nogod, SureCash and any new potential companies entering the market will not be greeted with an empty playing field. As a result, to survive in this industry, each company must provide something unique that will set them apart from their competitors, as it is the survival of fittest in today's economy.

Furthermore, such competition can bring about some major advantages for the consumers. Competition in the same industry will only force competing companies to make their prodcuts and services better and leave no room for them to slack off. For example: to cite the MFS industry in Bangladesh again, Nogod cannot afford to have poor server service, as they know poor service will translate to them loosing customers and their competitors picking up their lost customers. For these reasons, healthy competition among competitors will bring good news for the customers.

On the contrary, during this day and age of mass social media usage, it is very easy for false news to propagate and influence the population of a country. Anyone can promote their product(s) on social media by claiming false information regarding their product(s). Once a false information gains a litte traction it spreads like wildfire. This is because, there is no feature for fact checking anything that gets posted on social media and as a result consumers get duped into buying a product or service. Such a problem has no solution available and require the customers to be wary about anything being advertised to them.

To summarize, it is a very common phenomena for companies to promote their products by claiming they are new in some way. Such actions can have both positive and negative effects as discussed above but it is upto to the customers to always take new advertisements with a grain of salt. If consumers remain cautious about the disadvantages, there will not be any problem.