There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, because of the effect of information infrastructure innovation allowing people to access rapidly at an affordable price, working or studying can be employed in a distance. Although most people suppose that it has many limitations, I strongly believe it is a threshold to a new working standard.

To begin with, there are two discernible reasons for the advantages it brings. Firstly, it allows people to have flexible time and avoid traffic congestion which is a challenging issue in major metropolitan. Hence, time wasted will be cut down, in turn, people can focus more on their job so that enhance their productivity by a better performance. Secondly, the world is walking towards communicating across the border, encouraging people to connect in a distance. Thus, we can reach quickly many important consensuses, new projects notoriously can be employed as much as possible, which only exists in the information technology age.

However, to be honest, the most difficult restricted situation is that it could be very hard to manage humans because of the reduction of real interaction between managers and staff. Hence, it results in losing the cohesive factors in the group, inducing the whole system out of joint. As a result, individuals will perform redundant tasks owing to the lack of synchronizing between each one. By contrast, if people should have an office environment that takes advantage of interactive communication, leading to the efficiency of sharing work progress.

In conclusion, while modern technology supports remarkably to work or study in a distance, there are also a number of reasons for which is an indispensable choice.