In their advertising, businesses nowadays emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is a popular trend that enterprises manipulate advertising tools to highlight their merchandise with novel features. I opine that two major reasons stand out as primary for this tendency and have a negative advancement affecting to consumers.

Turning into detail, the highly emphasized promotion of businesses as if it is new can be attributed to two main contributory factors. Firstly, it is the fact that the market become more dynamic, urging companies to make the most of their resources into making a competitive edge. Indeed, by exaggerating the features of the products, the manufactures can witness an elevation of their sale. In addition, innovation is slow steps in making gradual progress. In fact, it takes several generations before having a completely new design, in turn, directing the vision of customers into special improved features are an effort to improve their public image, simultaneously building up their brand awareness.

Parallel with that, I suppose that this tendency brings a negative effect to purchasers. Indeed, it is evident that those overstated ads are likely to mislead the buyers’ understanding of products, prompting them to buy those which are useless or fail to meet their expectation. Therefore, wasting residents’ money becomes more ubiquitous. On the other hand, this trend also holds accountable for the increase of waste of gadgets because of their update annually. For example, once a year Apple company launches its new Iphone featuring not as many significant functions as promoted, leading to millions of old version devices being thrown into the environment.

In conclusion, although there are some motivations pushing modern enterprises into integrating rigorous marketing strategies, I opine that it brings more detrimental than benefits.