There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There has been an increasing trend of working and studying from home since the development of information technology. Some people consider it toxic because it takes away people’s face to face interaction. However, for others it is a chance to improve their situations and this is where I lay my thoughts.

Studying and working from home may bring several benefits. First of all, reducing the time spent on commuting meaning that we can save a lot of money for transportation and have more time to rest. This will lead to limit people on the street, reduce traffic congestions and accidents. Secondly, people may work flexibly at anytime, anywhere that they find the most productive. We can choose to do a certain amount of work per day rather than sticking at the office desk for eight hours without actually doing anything.

The benefit of accessible and cheap technology is that it opens door for people from low socioeconomic areas to change their lives. Many prestigious universities around the world are offering free courses on academic platforms for everyone to access. People from high mountains or remote areas can acquire knowledge through modern technologies. Also disable children can learn to read or write without having to leave their home which makes home schooling easier than ever.

It is true that face-to-face contact is important in human relationships, and the computers make people spend a significant amount of time on the internet that cause a decrease in human interactions. However, with all benefits mentioned above, I believe the advancement of technology has more positive impacts on our lives than the negativity.