There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s world of science and technology, more and more people have been working and studying from home since telecommunication technology is now easy to access and more affordable. From my point of view, I believe that there are some obvious advantages of this trend but its drawbacks are also undeniable.

On the one hand, I completely agree that utilizing the Internet in remote working and studying is easy and can bring effectiveness. Firstly, working and studying from home provide people with a comfortable working environment and flexible schedule since employees and students can work anytime that is suitable for them. Besides, this way of working also help reduce traveling cost, time and thus, avoid wasting time and traffic congestion. Secondly, with the aids of telecommunication technology, we are now able to work in some of the hardest situations. Taking the coronavirus disaster in 2020 as a prime example, in some Western countries, almost every social activity like sport, entertainment, education,… must be temporarily postponed but people can still work and study in a new normal way thank this advanced technology.

On the other hand, I am also convinced that without being used in an appropriate way, this technology can also cause negative effects. Firstly, for people who are lack self-discipline, home-based working is certainly an ineffective approach since without being supervised, they may usually be distracted by their phones or computers easily and thus, they can hardly finish anything. Secondly, it is scientifically proved that attending virtual classes can bring negative impacts on students’ interpersonal skills. Therefore, many parents decided to let their kids learn in traditional classes which can offer them many opportunities for socializing.

In conclusion, while I concur that taking advance of telecommunication technology in home-based working is absolutely convenient and effective, the disadvantages of this development are still irrefutable.