There has been a huge increase in the size of cities. Many cities have grown in a haphazard way. Why is careful planning important in the development of cities?

Given that more of the world’ population now live in cities than rural areas, the urban sprawl is deemed inevitable. This circumstance requires great efforts in conducting well-meaning urban planning since it plays a pivotal role in paving the way for the city growth in a planned manner.

My main reason is that by dint of meticulous planning, city leaders are able to see opportunities to enhance the process of developing cities in a sustainable approach. During this process, they are required to contemplate a host of facets to strike a balance between the development of the cities and their accessible resources. An important lesson can be learned from Singapore’s experience in water treatment. In the face of rising population and finite freshwater resources, this city-state island manages to meet its dwellers’ water needs by both transforming two-thirds of its land surface into a water catchment area with water stored in 17 reservoirs and using technology to treat wastewater to freshwater. Consequently, a careful plan to go green has given impetus to the chance of totally surviving economically with limited resources.

Another justification is that city leaders and other stakeholders would be in the position of managing risks from a vantage point. They can anticipate obstacles and propose efficient measures for each emergent situation in advance rather than reacting to the problems with insufficient preparation. To illustrate, most of the buildings in Taipei, Taiwan are controlled by seismic loads which can exceed the ability of a structure to resist earthquakes without being broken partially or completely. By virtue of thorough planning, the city, which is located in the Pacific earthquake belt, can avoid the collapse of buildings during the extremely large earthquake, causing less catastrophic damage to persons and property.

In conclusion, it appears that well-intentioned urban planning has proven valuable to aiding cities to sustainably flourish with little negative impacts on their built environment, economy, and citizens by evaluating potential opportunities and staying ahead of challenges.