These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

Teaching used to be the most intriguing and rewarding job in the world but now more and more people are reluctant to join this industry, especially in high schools. This is mainly because the teaching industry has become less attractive in terms of working load and treatments. These problems require concerted efforts by the society who should raise the statues of teachers.

Nowadays, schools, particular secondary schools, are more focusing on high academic achievements of their students than the past, posing huge burdens on teachers. It is common that teachers work more than eight hours per day, programming the class curriculum, lecturing several times a day and marking students’ work. However, their contributions are always been undermined if students are failed to performance well in exams as the public used to blame on teachers’ professionalism instead of other facts such as students’ own contributions to study. Furthermore, comparing some other glamorous industries such as banking and IT, teachers are not being treated well, particularly on salary. Teachers earn incredible less than those who work in banks or technology companies, even construction workers. As a result, with high burden but few salary, there is no doubt that fewer people choose to become teachers.

To solve this problem, first, it requires attention on a governmental level. Authorities should reevaluate our educational system by lifting the welfare of teachers. For example, in Singapore, being teachers is always be the one of top options for new graduates although with unimaginable stress as the government has granted a variety of unique welfare for its teachers such as discount for first house. Furthermore, the public need to be fully recognise the importance of teachers, therefore appreciating teachers’ efforts. For instance, in South Korea, high school teachers enjoyed the highest respect as the society acknowledges that those teachers will be the ones who are able to send their students into the best universities in the country.

To sum up, because of the high demand but low pay, teaching are becoming less attractive than the past. However, this issue can be solved if the government can raise teachers’ welfare and the public can acknowledge teachers’ high status in the society.