These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, more men choose to stay at home to take care of their children while their spouses become the breadwinners of the family. In my perspective, this trend is due to/ could be attributed to some reasons and I think it is a positive development.

In the past, women are expected to be housewives who stay home to take care of their families and their husbands are the ones to make a living. However, in recent times, the opinion of people towards the role of men and women in a family has been changed. Both men and women are equally responsible for their families and they could choose which role they want to take on in families. Therefore, it is normal for wives to gain qualifications and pursue a career. Also, it is socially acceptable for men to opt for staying at home and taking care of the housework.

I am of the belief that this is a positive development as it promotes gender equality in families. Both men and women could join hands to build their families in the ways that they want regardless of barriers of who is supposed to take the role of breadwinners or taking care of the housework. Furthermore, on a larger scale, women in society would have equal opportunities to pursue the jobs that they want instead of being forced into being housewives. Without being put under pressure to sacrifice their career, women could gain success in their careers just like any other man.

In summary, the shift in society views towards the role of men and women in families has led to such development and I consider it to be a positive one.