These days much of the foods people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe that it would be better for the environment and the economy if

people only consume food produced by local farmers.

Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The advent of food transportation has made different it available in every part of the world. While some people think that shipping food a miles away from where it was grown negatively

affects the environment and the economy, others argue that it is not important. This essay will suggest that the advantages of buying food from the local communities, namely reduced

greenhouse gases emissions and economical support of the agricultural sector, outweigh the flawed argument about the lack of nutritional values in a locally-sourced ingredients.

Air transport is one of the biggest polluters of the planet and the portion of agricultural air shipping in it substantially outweighs others, such as tourists flights. Furthermore, additional fossil fuels are wasted on delivering the agricultural goods from the farm to the airport. The study done by King’s College London in 2020 revealed that 60% of the environmental harm in the UK is coming from the transportation industry. Additionally, it is important to remember that products that are sold abroad will be taxed by those governments, leading to a lower income of local producers. This drives prices higher and can easily create a spiralling inflation, lowering the disposable income of the population. For example, Poland, who is one of the main exporters of grain, reported the highest level of inflation among European Union countries last year.

Other people disagree and feel that their shopping options are limited without international trade. This can be the case for smaller countries, who do not produce enough food, however, there is no evidence that reducing the consumption options to what grows on the native soil is harmful. For instance, it is proven that our ancestors, who hunted only where they lived, had better health than an average person today, eating something delivered from another hemisphere.

On balance, a localised approach to food consumption backed by an environmental cautiousness and economical stability is definitely more advantageous than a desire to eat a rainbow throughout the year.