These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. Causes and problems.

In recent years, throw-away culture has caused many problems in modern society. The following essay will discuss a number of factors contribute to this tendency and the consequences of it.

The main factor causing throw-away culture is the changing in consumer habit. It can be seen that in modern society, individual buyers are often focused on the current market trend of a product rather than its quality. As a result of it, they prefer to use items in a short time period to avoid their products to become obsolescent. For example, with the advent of a new smartphone, many customers will prefer to purchase a new one despite the fact that their old mobile phones may still in good conditions.

Another major contributor to throw-away culture is the business practice of manufacturers. From the perspective of producers, mass producing of short-lived items causes a reduction in the price of goods and it might increase the clients’ desire to purchase. Therefore, manufacturers could improve their profit if they can sell a larger quantity of their goods to consumers.

It is undoubtedly that the throw-away society is causing many problems. The first negative effect is that overconsumption of short-lived goods may cause a waste of buyers’ money. The valuable financial resources of individuals should be spent on more essential aspects of life such as education, health care and medical treatment. Another negative impact is that raw materials are being exploited by the manufacturers to serve the mass producing of goods. It may lead to serious consequences to the environment such as deforestation and shortage of valuable resources.

In conclusion, a throw-away culture can create financial problems for individual customers and it poses devastation to the environment.