The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the discovery of nuclear energy, media has been constantly declaring in favor of this energy instead of other sources of energy, such as petroleum or gasoline. While the nuclear energy appears to be more economical and pollution-free, in my view, the drawbacks of exploiting this energy are more significant than its advantages.

On the one hand, in terms of environmental issues, the inevitable radioactive waste needs to be disposed appropriately and yet, there are not any environmentally sound solutions. Apparently, deep geological disposal is the merely practical solution which may come at a great cost. The area needed for long-term waste storage is incredibly extensive. This issue potentially contaminate the groundwater sources and the soil or may kill the living organisms in turn. Besides, the other side of the issue refers to nuclear power plants which can be threatened by natural disasters such as flood, earthquake or tsunami. The casualties and side-effects of such incidents are catastrophic.

On the other hand, when it comes to the world peace, surprisingly, the nuclear weapons can lead to growth in the tensions and unrest among the countries. As a matter of fact, it may contribute to misuse by some ambitious governors in an uncontrolled way and ignites a global war as what happened in World War ||.

The main conclusion to be drawn from this discussion is that the disadvantages of the nuclear technology far outweigh its advantages although it is claimed to be cheap and environmentally friendly.