The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although the development of nuclear technology can lead to a danger to our peaceful world, many people believe that the value it brings is far more beneficial to humanity with the advent of environmentally friendly energy. However, I dispute this perspective since the detriments are predominating the conveniences.

The statement that our peace may be threatened significantly is possessed with merit considering that the destructive capacity nuclear weapons possess is ridiculously massive. Indeed, Japan witnessed millions of innocent people killed as a result of two nuclear bombs several decades ago in a war with America. Moreover, the strain between some superpowers in the past few years is increasing along with the speedy growth of such weapons, which pose a fear for the residents in those countries.

What fortifies the stance stated previously is that a huge amount of money is being squandered uselessly in the race of inventing new nuclear weapons amongst many developed countries with an aim to show their unparalleled power and dominate the world. These financial resources can be allocated effectively instead to boost the standard of living of the poor who is living in the margin of society. Therefore, the number of destitute inhabitants is rising remarkably as a negative consequence of nuclear technology.

A contrary school of thought claims that nuclear power can create cheap and green energy which can reduce the overuse of fossil fuels and eventually protect the global environment. Nevertheless, this belief is water since there are diverse types of renewable energy being harvested and made good use of these days including solar, water, and wind power. The invention of solar panels is a typical exemplification that is successfully innovated and installed in many parts across the planet.

In gist, the growth of nuclear technology brings both usefulness and harm to the world in various aspects but the detriments exceed. Accordingly, nuclear innovations should be supervised and restricted closely by national and local authorities to avoid any undesired aftermaths imposed on the world.