Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam.

how true do you think this statement is?

what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the last couple of decades, the possession of vehicles has risen drastically, thus posing multiple regions around the globe into “one big traffic jam” and I agree with this statement. The following paragraphs will elaborate on my opinion and the operations which can be performed to resolve such an issue.

The increasing rates of car possession have undoubtedly led to a majour complication which is traffic overflow. In my opinion, the mentioned statement is accurate due to several reasons. First, technological development has offered the population affordable cars which are generated by electricity instead of expensive gasoline, hence its popularity. For instance, the Tesla designed by Elon Musk has become a worldwide attraction and trend of the season, for the reason that it is activated by electricity and it is easily charged. Secondly, banks are offering loans to people who are incapable of disclosing a full car payment. To illustrate, minimum wage employees consider the purchase of a vehicle unfeasible, but due to the availability of financial support, families are now proud possessors of the latest cars, costing approximately twenty to thirty thousand dollars paid on the verge of two to five years. Finally, the overgrowth of the population is leading to greater demands in the automobile field. As a result, car sale rates are multiplying daily, and their appearance on the street is leading to obstacles on the road due to their accumulation.

Endless procedures can be interpreted to find a solution for the over-cramming of cities’ roads. The government should promote the usage of public methods of transport such as trams, trains, and buses. This can be achieved by providing the inhabitants of a city with the accessibility, safety, affordability, and comfort of such systems. For instance, Dubai has initiated an underground train system that employees, students, and even businessmen find reasonable to use daily.

In conclusion, the presence of advanced and affordable cars has caused an exponential traffic problem which many areas of the world are encountering nowadays. Strategic measures have been taken by the government to impose improvements onto public transport systems, consequently many will favour using them instead of their car.