Today different types of robots are developed which are good friends to us and help us both at home and work. Is this a positive or negative development?

In light of the proliferation of automation, robotics has emerged as a topic of general interest. It is widely acknowledged that robots are pervading every aspect of life. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.

The rise in robotics engineering can be seen as positive for both personal and broader economic reasons. On an individual level, robots can help people take care of tedious daily tasks to free up their time for more enjoyable activities and relaxation. For instance, robot cleaners and autonomous cars are already starting to make human lives more stress-free. From an economic perspective, robotics technologies play a vital role in driving economic productivity. Automatic machines and processes have replaced physical toil and ushered in a new era of unprecedented speed and precision of manufacturing.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned benefits, robots could pose a threat to humans. The convenience of having autonomous machines perform various labour-intensive tasks instead of people make them idler which leads to a sedentary lifestyle. In addition to our physical health, the risk of job loss is huge since innumerable manufacturing jobs have been eliminated by automation. Another argument against robots is that artificial intelligence is highly likely to outsmart humanity and eventually cause mass casualties. In the hands of the wrong person, autonomous weapons could be programmed to devastate a nation. Given the possibility of impairing our health, jeopardizing job security and causing harm to our kind, these technologies might wreak havoc in future societies.

In conclusion, robots will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on humankind.