Topic: Today different types of robots are developed which are good friends to us and help us both at home and work. Is this a positive or negative development?

The prevalence of robots at home and in the workplace has drawn much debate recently. While some maintain that robots can serve as companions for those in need, I believe the development is negative on the whole considering the concomitant rising unemployment rate.

On the one hand, artificial companions can promote emotional and physical well-being for the elderly in particular. Clear evidence of this can be seen in the example of the Japanese caretaker robot “Hirokan”. This robot is equipped with the latest advances in artificial intelligence and is capable of conducting a thoughtful conversation with an elderly individual based on its in-depth analysis of his personality, interests, and past events. These heart-warming conversations have proven effective in reducing loneliness, stress levels, and the potential risk of depression among senior Japanese citizens. In addition, the robot also functions as a caregiver that can physically assist seniors in performing personal hygiene activities and provides additional stability for them when walking.

On the other hand, the delegation of various mechanical tasks to robots is likely to give rise to greater unemployment figures. Currently, a large number of manual workers are being replaced by cutting-edge robotics systems in numerous factories around the world. For instance, thousands of Chinese assembly workers at Foxconn, a major manufacturer of Apple products, have recently been made redundant after the company adopted a fully automated process that minimizes the need for a skilled and unskilled human labor supply. This, in turn, has resulted in a rise in reported crimes including robbery, burglary, and gambling as the jobless workers struggle to earn a living. As more companies worldwide have adopted similar approaches, automation has become an inevitably that has to be addressed with proactive corporate and governmental reform.

In conclusion, despite the positives of man-made companions for older segments of the population, I am firmly of the opinion that the increasing popularity of robots poses a serious threat to our workforce and society at large. Therefore, governments should enact laws to curb the rate of automatisation, allowing workers to prepare for increased competition with robots.