Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, it is often said that practical skills and personalities pale in comparison with formal academic degrees when corporations look for personnel. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that the mainstream of prioritizing professional diplomas would have an adverse bearing on the buoyancy of the economy.

Most universities commonly provide an interactive learning environment for not only acquiring comprehensive knowledge but also cultivating soft skills for students’ career paths. In this way, a university degree is considered the passport to one’s accomplishment in a specific field. This solid evidence confirms one’s expertise and capacity that empower bachelor’s degree holders to stand a higher chance of being hired by the company. For instance, recruiters may not ensure to scrutinize all the job application details thus they are inclined to give chances for those who have formal diplomas and ignore the rest to save time and less money wasted on determining the worker’s ability by evaluating their performance.

However, I would contend this is a negative development that could do the economic growth a disservice. The sole focus on formal qualifications amongst recruiters will compel numerous school systems to put more emphasis on theoretical knowledge. As a result, graduates would lack hands-on experience and personal essence which are highly needed in the workplace. For instance, negative traits such as dishonesty and shiftlessness can take a heavy toll on the development of any company. Therefore, rich life experience and valuable characteristics should be given equal consideration during the hire of new employees process.

In conclusion, I believe that the tendency of preferring formal qualifications over practical experience in search of employment would do more harm than good.