Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different opinions about the role of advertisement in the high sales of products and whether it is essential in our modern business. I strongly agree that the power of advertising has a significant role to play in the revenue of a company and it is not necessary in our society.

Advertisements tempt people to buy their goods that they do not need. For instance, by paying people to endorse their products, companies are likely to seduce a great number of consumers who are fans of the celebrities. This could lead to great revenue that a company gets from a small amount of money paying to celebrities. Furthermore, the information about certain goods of a brand could be informed to customers. Without advertising, people find it hard to learn more information about these brands. Consumers would have more chances to access more information about the varieties of goods and they, therefore, could have more choices and make comparisons about products from various brands to opt for suitable ones.

Besides, I would argue that consumers would not only buy items because of advertising. Many products that serve their demands and sometimes are must-have items. Smartphones, for example, are really essential for an individual these days due to its benefits and efficiency. This could attract consumers without putting more resources into advertising. Moreover, many prestigious, reliable companies spell plenty of products without the need for advertisement. Although a company is small and local, its reputation spreads across the country and their goods are well-known because of its reasonable price and quality. As a result, these companies are successful in attracting more consumers and gaining great revenue by investing in the quality of products rather than designing creative advertisements.

In conclusion, while advertising has an impact on the number of products sold in the market, I am positive that it does not mainly affect consumers’ decisions on purchasing their needs.