Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that we now live in a consumer culture surrounded by companies that want to sell us their products. To some extent I agree that advertising sometimes effects the sales, but I would also argue that the goods we buy is actually considered to be necessary for our lives.

Advertisements can certainly manipulate us and therefore tempts people to buy things that are unnecessary. The high sales of mobile phone could be a good example. Apple launches their new I phone every year with up-to-date features even though they already have a phone that does not need to be replaced, people still can be seen queuing in long lines just to have possession of the latest model. It can be seen that the impact of successful marketing makes consumers think they need to keep up with the cutting-edge technology or follow trends in order not to become out-of-date. I believe that this has led individuals into the consumer trap making them buy new goods impulsively which therefore has increased the sales of companies.

On the other hand, I also believe that individuals tend to have the intention to purchase not because they are influenced by advertising but because they really have the need for it. For example, people want to experience the latest models such as high-tech cars with not only have auto pilot feature but also consume less fuels or electronic cars that are environmentally friendly. Moreover, maybe they want to support the brand that use celebrity endorsement with the participation of the one they are fond of. For instance, Oppo, a mobile phone brand in Viet Nam, has scaled up their annual sales when they invited Son Tung MTP, who are recently the most Vietnamese famous singer, as the brand ambassador.

In conclusion, while advertising apparently has an influence on our buying behavior, I believe that individuals will not purchase anything that goes against their own will.