Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, advertisement becomes particularly prevalent in boosting the sales of consumer merchandise even though they could not be considered as actual essentials of the community. I partly agree with this view and will give my reason below.

Advertising can lead people to be spendthrifts when they tend to spend too much cost on purchasing loads of unnecessary goods or items. Specifically, the acquisition of K-pop idols' items becomes a hot trend of almost all young generations in recent years. Many idols' posters, accessories, or albums are incredibly hunted by their fans from all over the world despite the high price of those goods. After that, they are not used effectively by the consumers; instead, they are just displayed at home as valuable decorations. Through many attractive advertisements on social media, teenagers just struggle to achieve their ambition and feel satisfied with those products.

On the other hand, the common range of advertisements cannot affect consumers if they have strong perspectives or have a reasonable spending plan. People who are financially savvy have a tendency to manage their pockets very well. Thus, they not only make a one-month budget for buying some essentials but also stick to that budget to avoid being broke in a mid-month. As a result, lively and impressive advertisements on both social networking sites and official public media are unable to appeal to them to buy any goods if their needs are not actually met.

In conclusion, it is not completely true when all of an increase in sales of well-known consumer products is the result of advertising's power. In my viewpoint, it really depends on the lifestyle and the demand of each person which are totally different from each other.