Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

People’s opinions differ as to whether the high sale of consumer goods is due to advertising or the real needs of the society or not. In my view, the result is dependent on the power of advertising up to a point.

There are two reasons why people may disapprove of the argument which advertisement is the cause of high sale rate of goods. Firstly, it is recognized that advertisements are some effective channels of which companies make use to tell customers about their products and consumers are also informed about the information of goods by those promotions, like commercials, email advertising. Secondly, individuals have their opinions and standards of good quality products, thus it is fairly difficult to say they are swayed by advertisements, and it is better to leave them to make their own decisions to buy products.

In spite of above arguments, it is also understandable why advertising indeed has influenced on sale rate of products. First of all, advertisements always try to manipulate people and persuade them to buy those products could make them happier than before. Furthermore, some companies are good at building brand images by inviting gorgeous or successful people to promote their products, so that consumers would associate some brands with higher social status and follow the buying trend. In addition, some advertising agencies usually advertise goods with advertisements of famous or popular actors and stars. This endorsement would attract lots of customers, who are fans of the celebrities, to buy goods.

In conclusion, while I agree with the idea that nobody can be judged whether they pay for the society’s real needs, I prefer the view that people’s spending habits might be influenced by advertising.