Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree with these views?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that in recent years, the advertising plays a primary part in increasing the revenue of common consumer goods which is not associated with the demand of the society. This essay disagrees with this statement because of the spending habits of the customers and the wisdom of the shoppers.

The first reason for my idea is that the buyers have own shopping behaviours, so it is not sure to say that the advertising is the key reason to attract all of them to buy any product. This means that a kind of advertising may be appreciated by this group of persons and be opposed by other groups. Likewise, the customers are from all walk of life, and have the different aging levels, work in the various field of professions, so they have diverse perception about a kind of advertising. An illustration here is that an advertising in which many girls wear bikinis and dance following the songs can be interested by many young people but can be tactless by a group of old traditional generation.

In addition to the first reason, the modern are more intelligent and have own experiences and knowledge to make a decision for buying. Currently, there are a ample of information resources about the products that are available for the consumers. Therefore, the customers are easier to access and compare a range of products to each other, so they often make their mind to buy based on the real demand on the products, and do not depend on the appealing advertisements. This shows there is the connection between the growth of revenue and the real need of the consumers.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that without the real demand and only with the advertising, it may be impossible to rise the sales of popular consumer goods.