Today, majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working. To what extent do you think that it affects the whole family?

As the economy improves and women enter the workforce at a higher rate, grandparents have taken on an additional role of custodians and caregivers to their grandchildren. As far as I concern, this phenomenon exerts both positive and negative impacts on the whole family.

On the one hand, looking after their grandkids keeps the elderly energetic and vibrant. In fact, research suggests that caring for grandchildren such as babysitting on the weekends is related to longer life expectancy for the aged. Moreover, such situations encourage close-knit family relationships because parents and grandparents need to discuss more to give a final child-raising method. Lastly, youngsters being brought up in surroundings with more caregivers could be more supported and well developed on both intellectual and emotional aspects.

On the other hand, grandparenting could cause adverse effects on both youngsters and family relationships. First, full-time adoption and caregiving make the elderly feel the burden of responsibility. To be more specific, they face a wide array of stressors such as strained relationships with birth parents in child-rearing methods or their increasing aging diseases, etc. Secondly, children growing without their parents' care could be physically and mentally affected. According to recent studies, kids raised by their grandparents are likely to be exposed to violence or suffer from psychological performance and behavioral problems. Last but not least, this situation would also loosen the relationship between children and their parents.

In conclusion, although some benefits of this phenomenon could be seen, they are, in my opinion, overshadowed by the considerable drawbacks.